Rigshospitalet’s International KFJ Award

Rigshospitalet’s International KFJ Award of DKK 1.5 million is awarded annually thanks to a donation from the Kirsten and Freddy Johansen Foundation.


About Rigshospitalet's International KFJ Award

The DKK 1.5 million award includes DKK 1.25 million to be spent directly on research carried out at Rigshospitalet or in close collaboration with Rigshospitalet. The award is presented to an international high-ranking researcher. The researcher should have existing cooperation with one or more international research communities at the hospital, e.g. in the Rigshopitalet’s Centres of Global Excellence. The first presentation took place in 2011.

Recipients of Rigshospitalet's International KFJ Award

2019 - Professor Kari Stefansson - deCODE genetics
2018 - Professor Jorma Toppari - University of Turku, Finland
2017 - Professor Tom Eirik Mollnes -  University of Tromsø, University of Oslo, Norway
2016 - Dr. John E. Dick - University of Toronto, Canada
2015 - Prof. John C. Burnett Jr - Mayo Clinic, USA.
2014 - Prof. Mary Relling - St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, USA.
2013 - Prof. Søren Bentzen - University of Maryland - School of Medicine, USA.
2012 - Prof. Thomas Olsson - Karolinska University Hospital, Sweden.​
2011 - Prof. Bruce R. Rosen - Harvard Medical School, USA.

Responsible editor