Rigshospitalet’s International KFJ Award

Rigshospitalet’s International KFJ Award of DKK 1.5 million is awarded annually thanks to a donation from the Kirsten and Freddy Johansen Foundation.


In 2015 the KFJ Award was presented to Prof. John C. Burnett Jr, cardiologist at Mayo Clinic, Minnesota, USA. The award was partly in recognition of his impressive research, publication profile and work within treatment of heart failure and peptide hormones produced by the heart itself. The award was presented at Rigshospitalet and marks the beginning of a new cross-Atlantic cooperation in the field of heart disease, endocrinology, stem cell therapy and diagnostics.​ Watch video interview with Prof. John C. Burnett Jr.​

About Rigshospitalet's International KFJ Award
The DKK 1.5 million award includes DKK 1.25 million to be spent directly on research carried out at Rigshospitalet or in close collaboration with Rigshospitalet. The award is presented to an international high-ranking researcher. The researcher should have existing cooperation with one or more international research communities at the hospital, e.g. in the Rigshopitalet’s Centres of Global Excellence. 
The first presentation took place in 2011.

Previous recipients of Rigshospitalet's International KFJ Award
2015 - Prof. John C. Burnett Jr - Mayo Clinic, USA.
2014 - Prof. Mary Relling - St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, USA.
2013 - Prof. Søren Bentzen - University of Maryland - School of Medicine, USA.
2012 - Prof. Thomas Olsson - Karolinska University Hospital, Sweden.​
2011 - Prof. Bruce R. Rosen - Harvard Medical School, USA.

Responsible editor